Lumizyme “on the go”

In October I took a 3 week vacation, one my friend Leanna and I dubbed our Epic Disney Vacation. We spent a week in Anaheim, California exploring the Disneyland Resort, and then took a two week Disney cruise to Hawaii. My Lumizyme infusions are scheduled for every two weeks, so obviously some arrangements would need to be made. I become terribly fatigued and my muscles start to ache if I miss a treatment. It is a huge set back in my crusade against Pompe when my treatment schedule is interrupted.

I started working with my Case Manager at Genzyme months in advance to arrange a Lumizyme infusion while I was away from home. My infusion needed to be scheduled for the first week of my vacation because that was the only time I would be “on land” long enough for it to take place. Dr. Byrne asked where I was staying in California and found a colleague who worked close to Disneyland. Dr. Kimonis at the University of California Irvine agreed to take me on as a patient and supervise my infusion.

My Case Manager worked with the Case Manager for the Irvine area and lined up all the approvals with the hospital and my insurance company. I filled out my paperwork a few weeks before we left on our trip and confirmed my appointment. My first “on the road” infusion couldn’t have gone smoother. Everyone at UC Irvine was so helpful and their infusion chairs are the best I’ve sat in. Everything is push button, to recline, or put your feet up, watch TV, or call your nurse, you just push a button on a single remote. The chair even had heat and massage features.

I do not think this is something that could have been pulled off on short notice. It took a lot of people working together to make it happen. For that, I am very grateful. Had this California infusion not been arranged I would have gone about 4 weeks without a treatment. That would have left me feeling pretty cruddy during the cruise.

With careful planning it is possible to make this sort of arrangement for your infusion. Of course it depends on your insurance, where you are going to be, and probably a few other factors, but I believe it is worth trying if you want to travel and not miss an infusion. Be sure to give your Case Manager plenty of notice to help make arrangements for an infusion “on the go.”

Disneyland, October 2012 with my friends Robyn, Elysse, and Leanna. I’m full of energy because of my Lumizyme on the go!

Leave a Reply

