Crafting for a Cause

 

It has taken me some time, but I think I finally have everything ready to go. Now I just need some shoppers!

For months I have been quietly working on creating a jewelry line to sell online for the purpose of helping to raise funds for Pompe research. The process has taken a lot longer than I thought it would, mostly because of my busy travel schedule.

This whole new adventure started because Pompe has given me a bit of down town where I am more or less tied to a chair, either for infusions or during my EMG treatments. I wanted to do something to keep myself busy other than just surfing the internet, reading books, or watching movies – I wanted to create something. I started making necklaces just for myself, then I decided it would be a great way to raise awareness for Pompe if I sold them and donated a portion of the proceeds to Pompe research – specifically to the University of Florida Foundation.

One of my favorite creations, the Sugar and Ice necklace. I have a similar one that is blue and white and I wear it all the time.

I finally did it. This week I finally posted a few necklaces online through Esty. I named my shop pearls4pompe. Each design will feature either pearls as a major design element or will contain at least one discreetly placed Pearl of Wisdom (pearl beads, not real pearls of course).

So stop by pearls4pompe and take a look around. I only have a few items currently listed but there will be more soon.

2 comments

  1. These are just gorgeous Monique!!! Can you make me a sugar and ice one and i will buy it off you when i’m in Florida? It will be a beautiful keepsake 🙂

Leave a Reply

