Easy (well, easier) IVs

 

Needing an IV infusion every two weeks for life makes the subject of IVs and ports constant chatter in the Pompe world. Like most debates there are those for and against ports. On infusion days many of my Pompe friends brag about a “one stick” day or vent frustration over a “3 or more sticks” day. No one likes getting stuck with a needle, especially over and over again, which is often when the port verses no port debate arises. I come down strongly on the “no port” side as I’ve already had enough slice and dice done on my body for this blasted disease and I really don’t mind the needles – as long as I don’t have to watch. I do everything I can to prepare my body for a “one stick” day. 

If you’re having trouble with getting “stuck,” before succumbing to “port pressure,” why not give Gatorade a try? Cheers!

The best thing anyone can do is to stay hydrated, which includes not only drinking loads of water, but avoiding alcohol and caffeine. Recently I’ve started incorporating Low Calorie Gatorade into my pre-infusion ritual. I use low calorie because it contains less carbohydrates and sugar – which in my head equals less glycogen build up. I drink at least two servings the night before my infusion and two more servings the morning of. It seems to help reduce the amount of sticks because along with the electrolytes for hydration, Gatorade is loaded with sodium which helps plump up the veins.

3 comments

  1. to port or not to port that is the question! you are right, the pressure from I.V. staff is always present.
    hydration is the call! i had not thought of a drink with electrolytes and find this intriguing. i am so hopeful about a port free existence just last week i gave up coffee all together just to see if it makes a difference. so far so good!
    thanks for the great post.

    warmly,
    rebecca

    1. Hey Rebecca!

      Just remember it is not your responsibility to have a port put in, to put yourself through surgery just to make their jobs easier. We can however, do what we can to make the process easier without having to get a port by staying hydrated. Let me know if you try the Gatorade prep and if it makes a difference for you.

      Monique

Leave a Reply

