Labor Day Weekend 2010

 

When I was a kid, Labor Day weekend used to mark the end of summer vacation. A few years ago it meant a much needed long weekend away from work. This year, it takes on a whole new personal meaning to me – it is the largest fundraising weekend for the Muscular Dystrophy Association.

I remember one of those end of summer weekends back in elementary school. I was on vacation with my parents. We were in the hotel room and the Jerry Lewis MDA telethon came on – this is the first time I ever remember watching it. Even as a child, I was amazed that all these people would dedicate so many hours in a row to help all those suffering from Muscular Dystrophy. Several years later, we were visiting my aunt in Florida and her son was working at one of the local telethon broadcasts. I remember being so excited to be on the set of a live television production. Never did I imagine that one day I would be one of Jerry’s Kids – as an adult!

Fast forward to 2010. In January I was diagnosed with a rare form of Muscular Dystrophy called Pompe Disease. Fortunately for me, there is a treatment for this condition – enzyme replacement therapy (ERT). The Muscular Dystrophy Association contributed research which led to the development of my ERT drug, Lumizyme. This Monday I will head down to my local MDA telethon broadcast to be part of it. As a volunteer, a fan, and as someone who has directly benefited from this amazing organization. They helped save my life!

Please take some time this weekend and tune in to your local telethon and please consider donating (no amount is too small) to this great cause.

Happy Labor Day!

3 comments

  1. I watch this every year! Adam was always a big fan as he grew up watching with his family and donating of course. Adam and I always donated and now Dave and I donate. I didn’t know anything about the telethon until Adam but he used to get so excited about it and the idea of helping others.:) genie

Leave a Reply

