Low Carb Eggs Benedict

 
Another thing I CAN have!

Having to cut back on carbs and sugars does not mean giving up my favorite things – at least not totally. Ever since I can remember I’ve always loved Eggs Benedict, and would get excited when I would find it offered on a menu. Since being diagnosed with Pompe, I now have to be very careful what I order because you never know what “secret” ingredients are in things. And more things than you would imagine have sugar added to them for flavor.

I did a little research to see if I could still enjoy Eggs Benedict. I knew that I would have to ask for the English muffin to be held, but I needed to know exactly what was in the hollandaise sauce. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that hollandaise sauce is in fact a low carb sauce! In fact, it has very few ingredients and is super easy to make.

Now I prepare Eggs Benedict (sans the English muffins) at home on a regular basis! This is a great protein packed “gourmet” breakfast that I love! Once you see how easy it is to make the sauce, you’ll be making it at home too because you’ll find that the restaurants are really overcharging for what is pretty much a basic sauce. Oh, and don’t worry, you won’t miss the English muffin because let’s face it, the bread just gets soggy anyway.

All you have to do is poach a couple of eggs and place them on some Canadian bacon that you’ve heated up, and then pour this easy-to-make sauce on top. Bon Appetite!

Hollandaise Sauce

3 egg yolks

1/8 teaspoon salt (if desired)

Dash white pepper

4 tablespoons lemon juice

½ cup margarine or butter, softened

In a small saucepan or top of a double boiler, slightly beat egg yolks. Add salt, pepper, lemon juice and ¼ cup of the margarine or butter; blend well. Cook over low heat or over hot (not boiling) water until margarine or butter is melted, stirring constantly. Gradually add remaining margarine or butter, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating well after each addition. Continue beating until mixture is smooth and thickened. Remove from heat; serve immediately or keep warm over hot (not boiling) water.

Makes ¾ cup.

Tip: If sauce curdles, add hot water 1 teaspoon at a time; beat until sauce is smooth.

This sauce is also yummy on both poached salmon and asparagus!

From The Pillsbury Cookbook: The All-Purpose Companion for Today’s Cook.

2 comments

  1. Yum! I used to love hollandaise on asparagus. eggs benedict was always my dad’s favorite breakfast. happy to see you’re still able to enjoy some of the foods you love! Also excited to be pen pals! 🙂

Leave a Reply

