M.E.G.'s Confessional

My Mystery Disease is Pompe

The Lab Rat Chronicles

on September 2, 2012

Over the summer I participated in the Amicus Therapeutics AT2220 Trial. The clinical trial is a safety study of a chaperone drug. The study drug basically does what the name suggests, it works alongside Lumizyme and “chaperones” it, making sure more if it gets delivered to where it needs to go. It is an oral (liquid) medication that is taken about an hour before starting regular enzyme replacement therapy (ERT).

I participated in the study at the University of Florida (UF) – where else? The team up there asked me to participate over a year ago – which should give you an indication about how long it takes to set something like this up and running. Additionally, it is a pretty big commitment on the part of the patient (lab rat) as well as the medical team. I had to commit to 6 separate, carefully timed appointments just to receive a single dose of the trial drug. I underwent several tests, including a couple of punch needled muscle biopsies, hourly blood draws during my infusion, and a couple of overnight stays in the hospital – all in the name of science.

The team at UF is amazing – but that is nothing new to those in the know about Pompe. Of course, I was a little nervous testing a new drug, but I knew I was in expert hands. After all, this is where I first started my ERT, before it received FDA approval and I’ve yet to grow a second head. In all seriousness, I couldn’t ask for a better place to be or with better people to work with. Not only is everyone so knowledgeable about Pompe and all the emerging research, they are simply a great bunch of people – the kind you just want to spend time with socially. It really makes having a sucky disease like Pompe a little less sucky.

The clinical trial is being conducted in 4 cohorts, or groups, each of which will receive a different amount of the trial drug. Patients in cohort 1 received the smallest dose, while those in cohort 4 received the largest. I was in cohort 3 and the trail should be wrapping up very soon. Preliminary data from cohorts 1 and 2 are showing promising results.

It could be a couple of years before the next phase of the trial begins, meaning more patients and more doses. Clinical trials are very closely regulated by the FDA and the smallest little mishap could set the whole study back. Which is why things can seem slow going, but it is really in everyone’s best interest that everything is done exactly right down the tiniest detail. The smallest error could result in a big set back.

Would I participate in a clinical trial like this again? More than likely, yes. I would have to take all the factors into consideration, it really isn’t something to be entered lightly. As I mentioned, it is a pretty big commitment time wise, which can seriously cut into my travel plans. It would also depend on who was running the trial. If it was Dr. Byrne and his crew up at UF and I had time – then, yes, sign me up.

Sincerely,
Your Loyal Lab Rat

2 responses to “The Lab Rat Chronicles

  1. karen bragg says:

    Hi Monique! I hope you are doing well. I just read your blog about the new drug you are “trialing”..Have you noticed a great imcrease in your energy level upon use of the trial drug used in conjunction with Lumizyme? I also have Pompe, and am curious…Thanks, and Take care! – Katie

    • purplelv93 says:

      Hi Katie – yes, immediately following my infusion I was a bundle of energy, more than without the trial drug. Since this was basically a safety study, it was only a one time dose of the trial drug, so it really doesn’t give me too much of a glimpse into how I would react to the chaperone Lumizyme combo cocktail long term.

      Monique

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

